Tell of His excellent greatness!

John 8:48-59 : One of the key senses of "to glorify" would be to
directly communicate an accurate estimation of something or someone’s
significance.  This is the most common use of the word that I hear
among believers.  To "glorify God" is to praise Him, specifically to
"tell of His excellent greatness" as the old hymn says.

In this passage, Jesus says "If I glorify
myself, my glory is nothing. It is my Father who glorifies me…". 
There are two examples that come to mind where the Father specifically
communicated to those around of Jesus’ significance.  In Matthew 3, we
read of the baptism of Jesus by John the Baptist.  After the baptism,
the gospel accounts tells us the heavens were opened, and a voice from
heaven was heard to say "
This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased."

And again in the account of the transfiguration, for example in Mark 9,
we read "And a cloud overshadowed them, and a voice came out of the
cloud, ‘This is my beloved Son; listen to him.’"

If God Himself glorifies Jesus, how much more should we, who have been redeemed by His blood!!

This entry was posted in Glorify - Word study. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

